Stephanie’s Follow-Up Question on Blog! Discussion Today

I am reposting this: Stephanie asked a question on a different thread, and I wanted to place it front and center.  I’m sorry we didn’t have room for it to come up today in class, but it will be first on our agenda for Monday.  Here’s her post:

(Stephanie writes:) I didn’t get a chance to say what I wanted to say about what we had to read for today, but I really wanted to. On page 249, there was a paragraph that I completely disagreed with. I am looking for more thoughts on this paragraph because I may be interpreting it the wrong way. The second full paragraph talks about blogging your life and how it can benefit you. It suggests that the number of people that go to a therapist “just to talk to someone” might go down. I disagree, there is something to be said about professional therapy. And it goes on to say that “one must assume that the more people appraise and document their lives, the more purposefully those lives will be lived.” That statement makes it sound like that is the case for every scenario. However, I think too much time spent on the computer might have the OPPOSITE effect. What does everyone else think about that? Anyone even notice that paragraph?

2 Responses to “Stephanie’s Follow-Up Question on Blog! Discussion Today”

  1. katiejoyi Says:

    I agree that this paragraph was a bit odd. When I had a bad day I ranted on my blog, but to be honest I felt better afterwards. However, I could have vented just as well in a private journal or to one of my friends. Therapists do have a place in this society. They can offer an impartial ear to rant to and offer sound advice while keeping everything confidential. With blogs, you lose that confidentiality. If you want to rant on the internet, you always run the risk of it coming back to bite you. I also don’t find any purpose in reaching a lot of people. I feel it is to impersonal and isn’t as effective. Other people who may be offering advice that I do not know may not know the whole situation or not have my best interests in heart. Remember children, never take candy, or therapy from strangers…

  2. The case is that, like Katie said, the stuff that you rant and rave about on the internet can definitely come back to bite you. Mention a name, a company, a place, and it could get you in a lot of trouble. Accidentally blurt out some private piece of information while you are going off and it is out there for everyone too see. Internet blogs are PUBLIC. That is far different from a Psychologist. As a Psychology student, I see the endless benefits of Psychology. Not only is it a private and confidential setting, but it is talking to another human being in person that can give you professional feedback. What will a blog give you back when it comes to this? It definitely can’t give you insight as to your psychological well being and such. There are a lot of “griefers” out there that might even make you feel worse about yourself and what you wrote than before. I believe that it is helpful to journal, to blog, whatever lets you get it all out, but to compare it to Psychological counseling is hardly a comparison at all.

Leave a Reply

